Anambra Guber: Obiano is winner
person_pin Rita Ureh
query_builder November 20, 2017 16:39:54

By John Ndu 

Awka, Nov. 20, 2017 -- The Independence National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared candidate of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Chief Willie Obiano as winner of Anambra State Gubernatorial Election. 

The election took place in all 21 Local Government Areas (LGA) of on Nov. 18, with 37 political parties participating.

Some of the parties include, All Progressive Congress (APC) All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), United Peoples Party (UPP) Progressive Peoples Party (PPA).

Announcing the winner at the INEC Headquarters, Awka, the Returning Officer, Prof. Zana Akpagu, said APGA emerged victorious after scoring a total number of 234, 071 votes. 

Others include APC that scored a total of 98,752, PDP, 70293, PPA 2787, UPP, 7903.

According to Akpagu Chief Willie Obiano, having certified the requirement of law is hereby declared the winner.

The Returning Officer announced that the total valid votes were 422,314, Total vote rejected, 26467, while the total vote cast was 448,771.